Introduced
1987 · Royal Mint Britannia bullionRoyal Mint bullion sizes and issue history
Gold Britannia Melt Value Calculator
Select a documented Britannia issue and size, then enter the coin count. The tool distinguishes the original 22-carat issues (1987–2012) from 999.9-fine issues from 2013 onward; unsupported dates and weights are not inferred.
One selected coin · theoretical melt value
$4,188.08USD · one documented coinPurity transition
22K through 2012 · 999.9 since 2013Value basis
Selected fine-gold content × current spotSpecification and intent
Britannia purity changed in 2013
The Royal Mint states that Britannias introduced in 1987 were struck in 22-carat gold and that purity increased to 24-carat in 2013. The calculator offers one sourced pre-2013 full-ounce reference and the listed 2026 sizes; it uses the selected fine-gold amount and never prices gross alloy mass as pure gold.
- Issuer
- The Royal Mint
- Country
- United Kingdom
- Specification coverage
- 2026 bullion sizes plus the documented pre-2013 full-ounce 22-carat specification
- Source method
- The calculator keeps the documented purity transition explicit: Britannias introduced in 1987 were 22 carat through 2012; The Royal Mint says Britannia has been struck in 24 carat 999.9 gold since 2013. Both selected full-ounce presets use their documented fine-gold ounce, while gross weight is not inferred.
| Supported selection | Issue period | Denomination | Fineness | Fine gold | Gross weight | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pre-2013 · 1 fine oz · 22K | 1987–2012 | £100 | 916.70‰ | 1 troy oz | Not stated | Mint/source ↗ |
| 2013 onward · 1 fine oz · 999.9 | 2013 onward | £100 | 999.90‰ | 1 troy oz | Not stated | Mint/source ↗ |
| 2026 · ½ oz · £50 | 2026 issue | £50 | 999.90‰ | 0.5 troy oz | Not stated | Mint/source ↗ |
| 2026 · ¹⁄₁₀ oz · £10 | 2026 issue | £10 | 999.90‰ | 0.1 troy oz | Not stated | Mint/source ↗ |
Coin-level reference: The Royal Mint Britannia bullion specifications
Interactive tool
Estimate Britannia metal value
Select a documented issue/size and count. The selector labels the issue period and fineness so a pre-2013 22K coin is not confused with a later .9999 coin.
The estimate values documented fine-gold content at the current spot reference. It is not an offer, appraisal, authentication, or collector value.
Calculation method
How the result is calculated
Published fine troy ounces × coin count × current Gold spot per troy ounce. Issue-specific fineness is shown as a specification; the sourced fine-gold amount is the price calculation input.
The estimate is theoretical metal value only. It excludes retail premiums, spreads, condition, authentication, taxes, shipping, and collectible value. It cannot identify an unmarked coin's year or verify its authenticity.
Evidence and references
Specification sources
Primary references where available
Information only, not investment advice. Theoretical metal value is not a dealer offer, retail price, jewelry appraisal, assay, or guaranteed sale price.